John Clairmont

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Short but peaceful

My wife and I hiked the trail and decided to make it last a bit longer by taking our portable kayak out and paddling around the inlet. It was a beautiful day for hiking and paddling, though it was a bit toasty. I've been to this park many times and never knew this path or lake access point existed! We will definitely return in the future to launch from this spot, possibly to paddle out around the lake next time.

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Nice city

Nice city, I like how it is tucked between the mountain ridges and rivers. My personal favorite spot is to ride the Duquesne Incline and take pictures from up there.

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Interesting running trail

Nice crushed, packed gravel trail. Wide enough to pass people, and pet friendly. The dog park at the beginning was a good highlight for my wife and I, we spent several minutes at the fence watching a dozen dogs playing.

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Take a pass

Sadly, not much good to say about this one. Parking lot was a disaster, barely any spots to begin with and it is tucked right next to a highway. No additional parking nearby. The "falls" that supposedly usually spray mist all over the boardwalk railing were beyond dried up. Probably need to be here after or during a heavy rainstorm to get any pictures worthwhile. We thought maybe we could get good pictures of the river from under the bridge, but that's where a homeless person set up camp and we felt weird about attempting to walk through his tent empire. Not a very great area overall, trash everywhere. The best I can recall is the unique teal water pooled by the cliffs.

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Once and Done

The falls are okay, but it will probably be a once and done trip for my wife and I. Nothing to gawk over, and the trails all around weren't that great. Seemed like a dirt path through underbrush. Also, this place was packed with people climbing all over, had to wait a minute just to get a good picture of the falls. Parking was tough as well. Can't imagine spending over 20 minutes here...

Trail or Road?

The trail is paved and marked, makes for a good running spot if you enjoy running on pavement but don't enjoy getting hit by cars. My wife and I stopped by the park intending to walk on the trail for a bit but we soon got distracted by the Challenge course in the main parking lot. It wasn't a tough choice to skip additional jogging time in favor of navigating obstacles as if we were on American Ninja Warrior!

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Peaceful

First stop of a few in Columbus for my wife and I. We both agreed it would be a nice running trail, though it isn't a loop. Saw lots of wildlife and not very many people!

The River

Grew up not far from here and loved walking/running along the canal! I also used to geocache in this area, which is very saturated with caches!

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Erie

Stopped by the Lake on my way to Detroit a few years ago. Unfortunately, the area we were in (near Luna Pier, just north of Toledo) was pretty trashed which is a shame. Got a few photos and left, but none were spectacular. I'm sure other areas are much more beautiful, though, just never returned to find them.

Close to home

Grew up nearby and used to come to Peace Valley Park all the time. Tons to do all around, besides photographing the lavender fields they've also got a bird watching area, trails around the lake, and kayak rentals.

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Awesome Metro Park!

Visited here a few years ago and really loved the park. We biked around most of the afternoon but then spent a few hours running and walking the trails. Most were definitely well cared for, although I recall one of the trails being quite muddy. I'd definitely recommend this place for anyone in the Columbus area!

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Nice View

Although the park was closed when we arrived (presumably due to Covid, despite the website stating it had reopened) we were able to see some pretty nice views in the area. We walked up next to the park and got a couple pictures of the huge gated entrance and the park itself. It was tempting to hop the wall and go explore the park, but alas common sense and a healthy fear of being arrested for trespassing sturdied our judgement. This was one of the last stops on the road trip from Ohio to Georgia that my wife and I took.

The Bridge

Beautiful bridge, super fun to walk over. You can get a wide variety of pictures here, and it was a favorite for my wife and I along our road trip from Ohio to Georgia. We had to pay for parking at a nearby public parking area, but it was pretty cheap as we did not stay long.

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Nice Metro park

Do weeds even exist here? The park and its grass is incredibly well cared for, and makes the perfect place for a romantic picnic! My wife and I stopped by here on our road trip from Ohio to Georgia. We had to pay for parking, but it was worth it to see the area and the bridge!

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Small Camping Area

My wife and I briefly stopped here as part of an Ohio to Georgia road trip. We only went up to the first two falls, so we unfortunately missed what sounds like the best falls. The underground tunnel looked pretty awesome but we had to skip walking through it as we did not bring the proper footwear and attire to get wet in the stream. A previous review was concerned about this being a racist area, however we only saw one racist remark among a ton of graffiti that was mostly just crude images of body parts. This is a public and secluded area, so any group of people can come and camp here. Also, if you hit a dead end after the first tunnel entrance, you are just at the first campsite! Walk up the hill to your left and follow that path up to the rest of the hike!

What a hike!

The hike to Eagle Falls was incredible. We got to see Cumberland Falls very well and get some great pictures form multiple angles. We also had a bit of fun and went off the trail once down by the river, climbing huge boulders and getting more pictures there. One important thing to note is that this trail is rated as "Strenuous", NOT easy to moderate. We saw many people struggling along the large, steep changes in altitude. Many of them were wearing sandals, presumably because they wanted to swim in the water hole under Eagle Falls (which yes, you can do!). Definitely a bad decision to wear anything other than solid trail shoes with good traction. The Falls area itself was really crowded despite the difficult trail to get there. Overall this was a great adventure, however, and was a highlight to the Ohio-Georgia road trip my wife and I were taking!

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Awesome Experience!

My wife and I briefly visited here during a road trip from Ohio to Georgia. We did not expect the top of the tower to be open, but when we arrived we saw a sign that said it was until 11am that day. The time was 10:56am, and we decided to make a run for it. Definitely a difficult and strenuous trail to run, but we arrived quickly and they let us up despite being late. The tourguide was informative and pointed out some landmarks for us. It was an incredible view up there, and our stomachs were churning as we looked straight down to the ground far below. I'm afraid of heights, but I do things like this because it is extra exhilarating due to the fear. I highly recommend climbing the tower!

Brief Visit

My wife and I briefly visited here during a road trip from Ohio to Georgia. We only had time to visit the mill historical area, but it was pretty cool and informative! There were also Christmas lights strung around, so I imagine this area looks pretty cool during Christmas time! There is a hiking trail right by the mill, so you could probably park at the mill and walk over just fine.

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Fun Hike

In my opinion, this is one of those cases where the hike far surpasses the destination. It was really cool to hike along the lake and then the stream, constantly dipping and climbing elevation. Not to mention the awesome suspension bridge towards the end! The falls, however, were pretty unsubstantial with barely a trickle of water falling. I'd recommend coming right after a heavy rain, sure there may be mud patches on the trail but at least you'll see the falls in its glory.

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Fossils Everywhere!

My wife and I visited thinking it may be difficult to find fossils, but at least encouraged a bit by online resources. On arrival, we were astounded to realize that literally every rock along the walls has multiple fossils! They were everywhere! We mostly found shell fossils, although we did see several other types with the coral fossil being my personal favorite. This time around we did not bother to gain a collecting permit, so we left without taking any home. Next time we visit perhaps we will get a permit and bring back out favorites!

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Nice View

Visited here with my family several times as a kid. I remember the awesome, sweeping views in all directions! It was a nice way to get the view without the hard work of climbing up a mountain, though I believe you have to pay in order to go to the top.

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Start of the AT

The value of this hike is mainly in that it leads to the Appalachian Trail and many people choose to start their AT thru-hike with this trail as it is easier than getting to the actual start. My wife and I only did the first mile or so as we were only visiting the area briefly. We did make it up the falls and got a good workout doing so! The view at the top was not all that great and was quite limited, but again, the value lies in what the trail leads to not necessarily in the views it has.

Nice View of the Delaware

Climbed this with my family while visiting a few years ago. Definitely strenuous, some points we felt like we had to climb! Fun trail though, and nice views at the top!

🥇Top Contributor

3 months ago

Nice View of the Delaware

Climbed this with my family while visiting a few years ago. Definitely strenuous, some points we felt like we had to climb! Fun trail though, and nice views at the top!